Eleven wrestlers advance to 2A districts

Jake Ryder

PARKERSBURG – Coby Willett has to be the one to take the first shot.
The South Hardin-BCLUW senior is hungry to make it to the state wrestling tournament, and he stayed aggressive in his two victories on Saturday to advance out of a Parkersburg sectional tournament and get one step closer to Wells Fargo Arena.
Taylor Kolthoff (120 pounds) and Owen Fuller (182) joined Willett as Storm sectional champs on Saturday, with Carter Kolthoff advancing as a runner-up.
Dike-New Hartford qualified an area-leading six wrestlers to districts, all as runners-up: Jace Petersen, Aidan Walters, Zach Starbuck, Nathan Graves, Daniel Graves and Jacob Leohr.
Aplington-Parkersburg/Grundy Center will be represented by Brier Uhlenhopp, a runner-up at 145.
The district tournament will be held at Independence this Saturday, Feb. 9, with action starting at noon.
For the full story, see this week's Grundy Register. Subscribe by calling (319) 824-6958 or clicking here. 

PHOTOS: Sectional wrestling at Parkersburg

The Grundy Register

601 G. Avenue - P.O. Box 245
Grundy Center, IA 50638
Telephone: 1-319-824-6958
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit www.midampublishing.com for more information.