NICL East, West softball teams announced

The North Iowa Cedar League East and West divisions announced their all-league teams in recent weeks.
Barrick named NICL West's outstanding player
Drake, O'Brien named Coaches of the Year
AGWSR pitcher Taryan Barrick was awarded the Outstanding Player of the Year award and received unanimous selection to the first team in the NICL West all-conference lists voted on by the league's coaches and released last week.
Barrick, a three-time all-conference pick, struck out 164 opposing batters in 74 innings pitched in NICL West play, allowing 27 hits, 10 earned runs and throwing 24 walks. At the plate, Barrick added a .422 on-base percentage in 34 at-bats.
Cougar teammate Makenna Kuper was the other unanimous first-team pick in her second year on the all-conference teams. Joining Barrick and Kuper on the first team was AGWSR's Ali Gerbracht, BCLUW's Kiersten Kruse and Parker Scurr and Grundy Center's Landry Luhring and Kyah Luhring.
BCLUW's Bailey Ashton was a unanimous second-team selection at pitcher. Also on the second team were Comets teammate Easton Swanson, Gladbrook-Reinbeck's Taylor Gienger, AGWSR's Rachel Sicard and Alyssa Hames and Grundy Center's Sydney Mathews.
Honorable mention went to AGWSR's Josie Winterberg, BCLUW's Madison Ubben, Grundy Center's Madison McMartin and Gladbrook-Reinbeck's Rachel Cooley.
Brenda Drake and Scott O'Brien were named Coaches of the Year for their guidance of the AGWSR girls to the NICL West title this season, which the Cougars claimed by one game over East Marshall.
NICL West All-Conference Teams
Final standings: 1. AGWSR 11-1; 2. East Marshall 10-2. 3; BCLUW 8-4; 4. West Marshall 7-5; 5. Grundy Center 4-8; 6. South Hardin 2-10; 7. Gladbrook-Reinbeck 0-12.
First team
(* denotes unanimous selection)
Pitchers: *Taryan Barrick, jr., AGWSR; Kodie Hoskey, so., EM.
Catcher: Madison Farrington, jr., EM.
First base: Renae Schaper, so., WM.
Second base: *Makenna Kuper, fr., AGWSR.
Third base: Kiersten Kruse, so., BCLUW.
Shortstop: Reagan McIlrath, so., EM.
Outfielders: Melinda Puumala, jr.; EM; Parker Scurr, jr., BCLUW; Kyah Luhring, so., GC.
Utility: Landry Luhring, sr., GC; Ali Gerbracht, so, AGWSR.
Second team
Pitchers: *Bailey Ashton, jr., BCLUW; Loran Nicholson, fr., WM.
Catcher: Taylor Gienger, jr., G-R.
First base: Rachel Sicard, so., AGWSR.
Second base: Maria Rasmusson, jr., EM.
Third base: Brooke Snider, sr., WM.
Shortstop: Easton Swanson, jr., BCLUW.
Utility: Hannah Birks, so., EM; Ellen Hungerford, sr., EM.
Outfielders: Alyssa Hames, fr., AGWSR; Sydney Mathews, jr., Grundy Center; Faith Owens, fr., South Hardin.
Honorable mention
(Local players only)
Josie Winterberg, AGWSR; Madison Ubben, BCLUW; Maddie McMartin, GC; Rachel Cooley, G-R.
D-NH's Sohn 2nd team All-NICL East
Dike-New Hartford freshman Abby Sohn was named to the second team of the All-NICL East softball teams released last week. Meghan Schmitz was the other D-NH representative on the team, earning honorable mention.
Sumner-Fredericksburg's Krayton Allen earned Player of the Year honors, batting .511 with five home runs, 18 RBI and 13 stolen bases in 47 at-bats in NICL East games. Waterloo Columbus coach Chris Olmstead was named Coach of the Year after the Sailors won the NICL East with an undefeated record, with Columbus eventually returning to the state softball tournament.
D-NH finished 4-12 in the league, with A-P turning in a 1-15 division record.
All-NICL East Softball Teams
Player of the Year – Krayton Allen, Sumner-Fredericksburg.
Coach of the Year – Chris Olmstead, Waterloo Columbus.
Conference standings – Waterloo Columbus 16-0; Jesup 14-2; Sumner-Fredericksburg 10-6; Union 8-8; Hudson 7-9; Denver 6-10; Wapsie Valley 6-10; Dike-New Hartford 4-12; Aplington-Parkersburg 1-15.
First team
Pitchers – Rhianna Bigwood, Jesup, jr.; Kayla Sproul, WC, jr.
Catcher – Sydney Schultz, WC, jr.
First base – Kristin Sadler, Jesup, soph.
Second base – Abby Gaudian, Hudson, soph.
Third base – Alivia Schultz, WC, fr.
Shortstop – Taylor Hogan, WC, jr.
Outfielders – Allie Driscol, Union, fr.; Jalila Hart, WC, jr.; Zoe Miller, Jesup, so.
Utility – Morgan Galbraith, Hudson, soph.; Alexus Jensen, Jesup, jr.; Marissa Stock, Denver, jr.
Second team
Pitchers – Kaylyn Hoth, S-F, soph.; Abby Sohn, D-NH, fr.
Catcher – Natalie Tecklenburg, Union, soph.
First base – Kate Shannon, WC, jr.
Second base – Sammie Kane, WV, soph.
Third base – Abby Meyer, S-F, fr.
Shortstop – Haylee Keune, Union, sr.
Outfielders – Haley Barkau, Denver, sr.; Kaci Beesecker, WV, soph.; Jordan Burrows, S-F, soph.
Utility – Tiffany Beyer, S-F, soph.; Olivia Kolterman, Hudson, sr.; Jacie Lange, Jesup, 8th.
Honorable mention
(Local teams only)
D-NH – Meghan Schmitz, sr.

The Grundy Register

601 G. Avenue - P.O. Box 245
Grundy Center, IA 50638
Telephone: 1-319-824-6958
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit for more information.