Spartans' Wallis, D-NH's Foster earn 1st-team all-state honors

Hailey Wallis

Hailey Wallis, a senior on the Grundy Center girls basketball team, received first-team recognition in both the 2018-19 Iowa Print Sports Writers Association (IPSWA) All-State Girls Basketball Teams and all-state teams released from the Iowa Girls Coaches Association on Tuesday morning.


On the IPSWA teams, Dike-New Hartford junior Ellie Foster was selected to the second team in 2A and AGWSR senior Aubrie Fisher earned a spot on Class 1A's second team. Foster was a first-team selection by the IGCA and Fisher landed on the third team in the IGCA's 1A squad.


As one of the leaders on a Spartans team that earned a second-consecutive state runner-up trophy in 2A, Wallis finished in the top 10 for scoring average in 2A at 18.3 points per game, adding 5.5 rebounds. She averaged nearly 43 percent from 3-point range and led the team with 60 assists and 72 steals in 24 games. Wallis, who signed with Minnesota State's women's basketball program at the college level, was also a second-team selection by the IPSWA last season.


Foster, a UW-Green Bay commit, averaged 15.6 points per game in a 19-game season after missing several games due to a back injury. She had 67 assists and 41 steals. Dike-New Hartford returned to the state tournament for a second-consecutive season.


Fisher, a Wartburg commit, wrapped up her AGWSR career averaging 15.4 points per game with 59 assists and 55 steals in 21 games with the Cougars. AGWSR finished with a 13-8 record.


The IGCA also recognized Grundy Center head coach Matt Lindeman as Class 2A's Coach of the Year.


The full IPSWA and IGCA All-State Basketball Teams are attached below.

2019 IPSWA Girls Basketball All-State.pdf180.23 KB
2019 IGCA All State Teams.pdf83.8 KB