Wallis named NICL West's top girls player

Grundy Center senior Hailey Wallis was named the North Iowa Cedar League West division's Outstanding Player as part of the All-NICL West girls basketball teams released this week.


Wallis, a Minnesota State recruit, averaged a league-leading 17.4 points per game in the Spartans' 12-0 performance in league play. She averaged five rebounds and 2.9 steals and made 33-of-73 3-point attempts. Grundy Center outscored their NICL West opponents by an average of 36.9 points per game.


She was also one of four unanimous picks to the first team, including Spartan teammate Brooke Flater, AGWSR's Aubrie Fisher and East Marshall's Olivia Terrones. West Marshall's Kayla Cripps, Gladbrook-Reinbeck's Taylor Gienger and BCLUW's Madi Ubben rounded out the league's top team.


Area second-team selections included AGWSR's Alyssa Hames, BCLUW's Katie Thompson, Gladbrook-Reinbeck's Saari Kuehl and Grundy Center's Kylie Willis. Honorable mention went to AGWSR's Rachel Sicard, BCLUW's Bailey Ashton, Gladbrook-Reinbeck's Belen Ellenberger and Grundy Center's Sarah Lindeman.


Flater averaged 10.2 points and 4.6 rebounds for the Spartans. Fisher averaged 13.1 points, four rebounds and had 31 assists. Gienger averaged 13.1 points, 4.6 rebounds and swiped 25 steals. Ubben averaged 9.6 points and 7.3 rebounds.


Grundy Center head coach Matt Lindeman earned the NICL West Coach of the Year award. The Spartans qualified for the state tournament and will play a state quarterfinal against Unity Christian at 6:45 p.m. on Tuesday, Feb. 26.


NICL West stat leaders (league games only)
Points per game: Hailey Wallis, Grundy Center, 17.4
3-pointers made: Wallis, Grundy Center, 33
Rebounds per game: Alyssa Hames, AGWSR, 9.1
Assists: Karlyn Snider, West Marshall, 38
Steals: Katie Thompson, BCLUW, 46
Blocks: Madi Ubben, BCLUW, 17
All-NICL West Girls Basketball Team
Most Outstanding Player: Hailey Wallis, Grundy Center
Coach of the Year: Matt Lindeman, Grundy Center
First team (* = unanimous)
*Aubrie Fisher AGWSR Sr.
*Brooke Flater Grundy Center Sr.
*Olivia Terrones East Marshall Jr.
*Hailey Wallis Grundy Center Sr.
Kayla Cripps West Marshall Sr.
Taylor Gienger Gladbrook-Reinbeck Sr.
Madi Ubben BCLUW Jr.

Second team

Kiera Anderson South Hardin Sr.
Madison Farrington East Marshall Sr.
Alyssa Hames AGWSR So.
Saari Kuehl Gladbrook-Reinbeck So.
Avril Sinning West Marshall Jr.
Karlyn Snider West Marshall Jr.
Katie Thompson BCLUW Sr.
Kylie Willis Grundy Center Sr.


Honorable mention

Bailey Ashton, BCLUW, sr.; Belen Ellenberger, Gladbrook-Reinbeck, so.; Sarah England, South Hardin, sr.; Teresa Disney, West Marshall, jr.; Sarah Lindeman, Grundy Center, sr.; Melinda Puumala, East Marshall, sr.; Rachel Sicard, AGWSR, jr.