Wrestlers battle for state spot on Saturday

Jake Ryder
Saturday’s district wrestling tournaments will determine the field for next week’s three-day Iowa high school traditional state wrestling tournament, scheduled for Thursday, Feb. 20 through Saturday, Feb. 22.
Read more
The top two placewinners in each weight class at the district meets qualify for the state tournament. District tournaments all begin at noon on Saturday, Feb. 15.
There are nine wrestlers from teams in the Grundy Register coverage area that will compete for a chance to go to the Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines. 
A look at the road ahead for each wrestler:

Class 2A District 6 at New Hampton

Aidan Walters (Dike-New Hartford)
Sectional champion, 182 pounds
District opponents: Caden Collins (Charles City, sectional champion); Marcus Beatty (Independence); Jacob Reicks (New Hampton/Turkey Valley).
Ranked wrestlers in the bracket (IAwrestle.com): Collins, 5th.
District semifinals
Collins (27-5) vs. Beatty (26-17)
Reicks (27-11) vs. Walters (26-7)
Jace Petersen (Dike-New Hartford)
Sectional runner-up, 138 pounds
District opponents: Joel Grimes (North Fayette Valley, sectional champion); Alec Staudt (Charles City); Alberto Salmeron (Iowa Falls-Alden, sectional champion).
Ranked wrestlers: Salmeron, 6th.
District semifinals
Grimes (29-5) vs. Petersen (24-11)
Staudt (23-5) vs. Salmeron (38-1)
Nick Reinicke (Dike-New Hartford)
Sectional runner-up, 145 pounds
District opponents: Jackson Rolfs (Decorah, sectional champion); Cayden Howland (Iowa Falls-Alden, sectional champion); Conner Gorman (New Hampton/Turkey Valley).
Ranked wrestlers: Rolfs, 5th; Howland, 9th.
District semifinals
Reinicke (29-9) vs. Rolfs (27-5)
Gorman (14-21) vs. Howland (32-2)
Joe Folkerts (Dike-New Hartford)
Sectional runner-up, 195 pounds
District opponents: Evan Rosonke (New Hampton/Turkey Valley, sectional champion); Jack Sindlinger (Charles City); Christian Kremer (Independence, sectional champion).
Ranked wrestlers: Rosonke, 2nd; Kremer, 6th.
District semifinals
Folkerts (19-15) vs. Rosonke (33-3)
Kremer (42-4) vs. Sindlinger (26-7)
Zach Klahsen (AP/GC)
Sectional champion, 113 pounds
District opponents: Carter Fousek (Crestwood, sectional champion); Jacob Michaelson (Iowa Falls-Alden); Caden Kerr (North Fayette Valley).
Ranked wrestlers: Fousek, 1st.
District semifinals
Fousek (33-2) vs. Michaelson (4-10)
Kerr (13-6) vs. Klahsen (12-10)

Class 2A District 3 at Ballard, Huxley

Carter Kolthoff (South Hardin-BCLUW)
Sectional champion (106 pounds)
District opponents: Riece Graham (Perry, sectional champion); Drew Robinson (Nevada); Peyton Nixon (Woodward-Granger).
Ranked wrestlers: Kolthoff, 7th; Graham, 9th.
District semifinals
Graham (24-4) vs. Robinson (31-5)
Nixon (38-8) vs. Kolthoff (36-2)
Lucas Gunderson (South Hardin-BCLUW)
Sectional runner-up (195 pounds)
District opponents: Conner Murty (East Marshall/GMG, sectional champion); Jake Steenhoek (Gilbert, sectional champion); Jack Chism (Ballard).
Ranked wrestlers: Murty, 9th; Steenhoek, 10th.
District semifinals
Steenhoek (43-3) vs. Gunderson (19-16)
Murty (36-3) vs. Chism (27-16)
Aiden Farnsworth (South Hardin-BCLUW)
Sectional runner-up (220 pounds)
District opponents: Cody Fisher (Woodward-Granger, sectional champion); Caden Jones (Nevada, sectional champion); Cayden Meskan (Gilbert).
Ranked wrestlers: Fisher, 1st; Meskan, 8th.
District semifinals
Fisher (46-0) vs. Farnsworth (14-14)
Jones (9-5) vs. Meskan (39-8)

Class 1A District 1 at Denver

Trey Lashbrook (AGWSR)
Sectional champion (120 pounds)
District opponents: Bryce McDonough (Central Springs, sectional champion); Chase Lyons (Denver); Jack Ramaker (Lake Mills)
Ranked wrestlers: McDonough, 8th; Lashbrook, 9th.
District semifinals
McDonough (43-3) vs. Lyons (18-8)
Lashbrook (27-6) vs. Ramaker (39-10)


The Grundy Register

601 G. Avenue - P.O. Box 245
Grundy Center, IA 50638
Telephone: 1-319-824-6958
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit www.midampublishing.com for more information.