Wrestling roundup: Storm, Falcons split in Jesup

Jake Ryder

JESUP – Aplington-Parkersburg/Grundy Center and South Hardin-BCLUW wrestling each won one dual at a Jesup High School triangular on Thursday. A-P/GC won 42-36 win against the Storm and lost 46-34 to Jesup. The Storm won their match with Jesup, 48-27.

A-P/GC 42, SH-BCLUW 36: The Falcons defeated South Hardin-BCLUW with five wins by fall and two forfeit victories.

Kolby Muller, Connor Kellum, Carter Mackie, Nathan Klahsen and Brady Romberg all won by fall for A-P/GC. Cole Heideman and Brier Uhlenhopp added wins by forfeit.

Lucas Gunderson, Aiden Farnsworth, Carter Kolthoff, Taylor Kolthoff, Kade Pekarek and Michael Fuller all won by fall for the Storm.

JESUP 46, A-P/GC 34: The J-Hawks won seven head-to-head matches and added a win by forfeit to take the dual with the Falcons.

A-P/GC winners were Kolby Muller by fall, Nick Johnson by major decision and Trent Greiner, Trey Morris, Nathan Klahsen and Cole Heideman by forfeit.

SH-BCLUW 48, JESUP 27: The Storm won five of nine head-to-head matches and claimed three forfeits in the win over the J-Hawks.

Carter Kolthoff, Taylor Kolthoff, Javon Darden, Nick Feldpausch and Nicolas Paxton all won by fall for the Storm.

Lucas Gunderson, Brayan Ralston and Aiden Farnsworth claimed wins by forfeit.

EM/GMG 43, D-NH 24: Dylan Ohrt, Caden Ragsdale, Aidan Walters and Jacob Leohr won head-to-head matches with the Mustangs, and Zach Starbuck added a win by forfeit.

The Mustangs countered with four wins by fall, a major decision, a decision and two wins by forfeit.

D-NH 58, WAPSIE VALLEY 21: The Warriors got 18 of their points from forfeits as the Wolverines won six of seven head-to-head matches and added four wins by forfeit.

Caden Ragsdale, Jace Petersen, Cayden Buskohl and Joe Folkerts all won by fall. Aidan Walters and Nick Reinicke added technical falls. Zach Starbuck, Cole Graves, Jacob Leohr and Dylan Ohrt all won by forfeit.

D-NH 33, SOUTH WINNESHIEK 28: The Wolverines closed out a hard-fought dual with a pair of wins by decision, narrowly beating out South Winn.

South Winn led 28-27 going into the final two weights, but Dylan Ohrt won a 10-3 decision at 126 pounds and Caden Ragsdale followed with a 5-0 win at 132 pounds to clinch the dual victory.

Jace Petersen, Nick Reinicke and Jacob Leohr all won by decision. Aidan Walters, Joe Folkerts and Zach Starbuck earned forfeit victories.

SUMNER-FREDERICKSBURG 54, AGWSR 30: Brody Roder and Jacob Haley won by fall against the Cougars. Jared Granzow, Tate Miller and Trey Lashbrook all won by forfeit.

Sumner-Fredericksburg won six head-to-head matches and received three wins by forfeit.

UNION 66, AGWSR 13: The highly-ranked Knights won seven of 10 head-to-head matches and added four wins by forfeit.

Jacob Haley won by fall, Coltan Richtsmeier won a major decision and Trey Lashbrook defeated Union's Kolten Crawford by a 4-2 decision. Lashbrook is rated ninth in 1A at 120 pounds by IAwrestle.com, Worthen is the fourth-ranked 120-pounder in 2A by the same website.



The Grundy Register

601 G. Avenue - P.O. Box 245
Grundy Center, IA 50638
Telephone: 1-319-824-6958
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit www.midampublishing.com for more information.