All-NICL East Girls Basketball Team: D-NH's Hoffmann unanimous first-teamer

Dike-New Hartford junior Sophia Hoffmann earned a unanimous selection to the first team of the All-NICL East Girls Basketball Team released earlier this week. (Jake Ryder)
Jake Ryder

Dike-New Hartford had three athletes selected to the first team of the All-NICL East girls basketball team released earlier this week.

Sophia Hoffmann was a unanimous selection to the first team, joined by Payton Petersen and Ellary Knock.

Paula Gonzalez was a second-team selection and Taylor Kvale received honorable mention.

Hoffmann averaged 7.5 points, 6.8 assists and 4.9 steals per game in division play. Petersen averaged 12.8 points and 7.3 rebounds and Knock chipped in 10.3 points and 6.3 rebounds.

Gonzalez scored 8.2 points with an average of 5.3 rebounds per game against division foes.

D-NH head coach Bruce Dall earned Coach of the Year honors, guiding the Wolverines to an undefeated season and a Class 2A state championship.


2020-21 All-NICL East Girls Basketball Team


Player of the Year

Morgan Brandt, jr., Sumner-Fredericksburg


Coach of the Year

Bruce Dall, Dike-New Hartford


First team


*Sophia Hoffmann, Dike-New Hartford, jr.

Payton Petersen, Dike-New Hartford, fr.

Ellary Knock, Dike-New Hartford, soph.

*Reese Johnson, Denver, jr.

*Morgan Brandt, Sumner-Fredericksburg, jr.

Amanda Treptow, Jesup, jr.

Ali Vesely, Columbus, sr.

Jessica Carolan, Hudson, sr.


Second team


Paula Gonzalez, Dike-New Hartford, sr.

Grace Hennessy, Denver, soph.

Laney Pilcher, Jesup, soph.

Reagan Lindsay, Columbus, sr.

Ellie Etjen, Aplington-Parkersburg, jr.

Sara Hansen, Hudson, sr.

*Allie Driscol, Union, sr.

Mary Bodensteiner, Wapsie Valley, jr.


Honorable mention

Dike-New Hartford: Taylor Kvale, jr.

Denver: Allison Bonnette, jr.; Emma Hennessy, sr.

Sumner-Fredericksburg: Abby Meyer, sr.; Molly Niewoehner, sr.

Jesup: Alexis Larson, jr.

Columbus: Morgan Bradley, fr.

Aplington-Parkersburg: Ellen Waller, soph.

Hudson: Madison Michael, jr.

Union Community: Reagan Sorensen, fr.

Wapsie Valley: Kate Risse, fr.


The Grundy Register

601 G. Avenue - P.O. Box 245
Grundy Center, IA 50638
Telephone: 1-319-824-6958
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit for more information.