All-state volleyball: D-NH's Payton Petersen on elite team

Dike-New Hartford freshman Payton Petersen was named the Iowa Girls Coaches Association's Class 2A's Player of the Year and was one of eight players named to the All-State Elite Team, which includes players from all five classes. (Jake Ryder photo)
Jake Ryder
The Grundy Register

Dike-New Hartford freshman Payton Petersen was selected to the Iowa Girls Coaches Association's all-state elite volleyball team, as part of the IGCA's all-state teams released on Wednesday, Nov. 18.

The all-state elite team is comprised of eight players that are selected across all classifications to represent the best of the best in Iowa high school volleyball. Petersen was the only freshman named to the elite team. Ankeny's Phyona Schrader was named All-State Elite Player of the Year.

Petersen's 444 kills (4.8 per set) was the fourth-highest total in Iowa this season. She added 377 digs (4.1 per set), 97 total blocks (25 solo) and 40 ace serves.

Petersen was also named the Class 2A Player of the Year; D-NH head coach Diane Harms earned 2A Coach of the Year honors.

Joining Payton on the first team in 2A is twin sister Jadyn Petersen. Grundy Center senior Abby Hamann and Dike-New Hartford sophomore Madelyn Norton are on the second team; D-NH's Lexie Fager received all-state honorable mention.

Jadyn averaged 4.3 digs and 2.3 kills per set, leading D-NH and placing in the top 10 state-wide with 67 ace serves, averaging an ace roughly every six serves.

Hamann was sixth in Iowa with 427 total kills (4.7 per set) this fall, second only to Payton Petersen in 2A. Hamann added 262 digs (2.9 per set), 23 total blocks and led the Spartans with 39 aces.

Norton distributed 893 assists to the 2A state champion Wolverines this fall, adding 246 digs (2.7 per set), 24 total blocks and 21 ace serves. Fager, D-NH’s libero, led the team with 393 digs (4.3 per set) and added 24 aces on a 96 percent serving efficiency.

In Class 1A, Gladbrook-Reinbeck senior Saari Kuehl earned first-team all-state honors. G-R’s sophomore setter Emma McClintock was a second-team selection and Rebel teammate Megan Cooley received honorable mention, as did BCLUW senior Lizzie Garber. G-R head coach Paula Kelley was named Class 1A Coach of the Year.

Kuehl tied for the most kills per set in Class 1A with 4.6 per game and led the Rebels with 4.3 digs per set, adding 34 total blocks and a team-leading 46 ace serves.

McClintock distributed 9.3 assists per set this season, dug up 154 attacks, made 28 total blocks and dropped in 36 ace serves with a 95 percent serve efficiency.

Cooley averaged 2.1 kills per set, adding 51 total blocks and 41 ace serves.

Garber averaged 4.1 assists, 2.7 kills and 2.4 digs per set for the Comets this fall. She added 47 total blocks and 30 ace serves.


IGCA All-State Volleyball Teams

All-State Elite Team

Phyona Schrader, Ankeny, sr.

Danielle Johnson, Osage, sr.

Morgan Middleton, Clarion-Goldfield-Dows, sr.

Paige Kisley, Osage, sr.

Kora Ruff, Pleasant Valley, jr.

Hayden Kubik, West Des Moines Valley, jr.

Cassidy Hartman, Iowa City Liberty, soph.

Payton Petersen, Dike-New Hartford, fr.

Class 2A

Player of the Year: Payton Petersen, Dike-New Hartford

Coach of the Year: Diane Harms, Dike-New Hartford

First team: Payton Petersen, D-NH, fr.; Ashlynn Kuhn, Hudson, sr.; Kelsey Drake, Wilton, jr.; Kayla Knowles, Denver, soph.; Morgan Brandt, Sumner-Fredericksburg, jr.; Jadyn Petersen, D-NH, fr.; Kiersten Schmitt, Dyersville Beckman, jr.

Second team: Abby Hamann, Grundy Center, sr.; Reese Johnson, Denver, jr.; Jaidyn Teske, South Hardin, jr.; Jewel Bergstrom, Boyden-Hull, jr.; Stella Winterfeld, Western Christian, soph.; Macy Vanfossan, Underwood, sr.; Madelyn Norton, D-NH, soph.

Third team: Chloe Largent, ACGC, jr.; Norah Matt, Van Meter, sr.; Isabelle Elliott, Sumner-Fredericksburg, fr.; Allison Bonnette, Denver, jr.; Jayin VanDyken, Western Christian, jr.; Carly Puffer, Wilton, jr.; Emerson Whittenbaugh, Maquoketa Valley, sr.

Honorable mention (area only): Lexie Fager, D-NH, jr.

Class 1A

Player of the Year: Allie Petry, St. Albert

Coach of the Year: Paula Kelley, Gladbrook-Reinbeck

First team: Lydia Imbrogno, Wapsie Valley, jr.; Saari Kuehl, G-R, sr.; Allie Petry, Council Bluffs St. Albert, sr.; Gabby Gergen, Janesville, sr.; Rachel Langel, LeMars Gehlen, sr.; Gabby Deery, Burlington Notre Dame, soph.; Katie Stephens, BND, jr.

Second team: Pyper McCarville, Janesville, jr.; Ella Larsen, Newell-Fonda, sr.; Emma McClintock, G-R, soph.; Tara Peterson, Stanton, sr.; Jaylen Bork, MMCRU, sr.; Kassi Randolph, Holy Trinity, jr.; Kalvyn Rosengarten, Wapsie Valley, soph. 

Third team: Claire Pothitakis, Holy Trinity, sr.; Nia Howard, Springville, soph.; Rachel Drake, East Mills, sr.; Sydney Matthias, Wapsie Valley, soph.; Lauren Williams, St. Albert, jr.; Jenna Brown, Don Bosco, sr.; Nichola Phillippe, Belle Plaine, sr.

Honorable mention: Megan Cooley, G-R, soph.; Lizzie Garber, BCLUW, sr.


The Grundy Register

601 G. Avenue - P.O. Box 245
Grundy Center, IA 50638
Telephone: 1-319-824-6958
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit for more information.