Fifteen area wrestlers battle for state spots Saturday

Nick Reinicke of Dike-New Hartford controls Hampton-Dumont's Braden Hansen in the 160-pound final on the way to a 9-1 major decision to win the sectional title on Saturday, Feb. 6. (Kristi Nixon/Mid-America Publishing)
Jake Ryder
The Grundy Register

District wrestling tournaments begin at noon across the state of Iowa. The top two in each weight class at the tournaments advance to the state high school tournament that runs from Thursday, Feb. 18 through Saturday, Feb. 20 at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

Of particular interest in the area are three district tournaments: Aplington-Parkersburg/Grundy Center and Dike-New Hartford/Gladbrook-Reinbeck will wrestle at New Hampton in a 2A district tourney hosted by New Hampton/Turkey Valley, South Hardin-BCLUW competes at a 2A meet in Williamsburg, while AGWSR battles district competition at Clarksville in a meet hosted by North Butler-Clarksville.

Tickets are $6 per person for all district tournaments. Restrictions in response to the COVID-19 pandemic will vary by school.

Read more (for online subscribers)

Ten wrestlers advance to 2A districts

Cougars advance 5 to 1A districts

District pairings

(Rankings are based on The Predicament)

Class 2A at New Hampton

126 pounds

No. 1 Carter Fousek, Crestwood, 24-0 (champion) vs. Reece Sadler, Webster City, 11-20 (runner-up)

Lane Rolfs, Decorah, 18-15 (runner-up) vs. Dylan Ohrt, D-NH/G-R, 20-8 (champion)

152 pounds

No. 9 Roush Jaeger, Charles City, 24-3 (champion) vs. Cole Graves, D-NH/G-R, 10-4 (runner-up)

Clay Schemmel, Crestwood, 19-7 (runner-up) vs. No. 7 Carl Barkema, Hampton-Dumont-CAL, 38-1 (champion)

160 pounds

No. 9 Hunter Bye, Crestwood, 18-7 (champion) vs. Braden Hansen, H-D-CAL, 19-9 (runner-up)

No. 10 Ryan Pickar, New Hampton/Turkey Valley, 33-7 (runner-up) vs. Nick Reinicke, D-NH/G-R, 22-7 (champion)

170 pounds

No. 2 Carson Babcock, NH/TV, 40-0 (champion) vs. Nick Johnson, A-P/GC, 14-13 (runner-up)

No. 6 Caden Collins, Charles City, 31-5 (runner-up) vs. Tate Schmitt, H-D-CAL, 21-10 (champion)

195 pounds

No. 3 Jacob Reicks, NH/TV, 41-1 (champion) vs. Wil Textor, D-NH/G-R, 15-6 (runner-up)

Landen Schemmel, Crestwood, 22-5 (runner-up) vs. Gabe Hadwiger, Iowa Falls-Alden, 26-6 (champion)

285 pounds

No. 5 Chase Crooks, Charles City, 24-3 (champion) vs. Kolby Muller, A-P/GC, 16-9 (runner-up)

Jackson Blue, North Fayette Valley, 24-8 (runner-up) vs. Jacob Leohr, D-NH/G-R, 12-4 (champion)


Class 2A at Williamsburg

120 pounds

Kayden Gryp, Williamsburg, 34-5 (champion) vs. Amare Chavez, South Tama County, 18-14 (runner-up)

No. 5 Jaiden Moore, Benton Community, 29-6 (runner-up) vs. No. 9 Carter Kolthoff, South Hardin-BCLUW, 29-2 (champion)

152 pounds

No. 8 Stone Schmitz, Union, 27-5 (champion) vs. Logan Aicher, SH-BCLUW, 14-12 (runner-up)

Teegan McEnany, Independence, 24-18 (runner-up) vs. Tim Benson, East Marshall/GMG, 19-6 (champion)

182 pounds

No. 1 Adam Ahrendsen, Union, 17-0 (champion) vs. Kade Pekarek, SH-BCLUW, 12-8 (runner-up)

No. 7 Austin Roos, Benton Community, 31-6 (runner-up) vs. Garret Kerber, EM/GMG, 24-5 (champion)


Class 1A at North Butler (Clarksville)

120 pounds

Treycen Rollene, Northwood-Kensett, 28-13 (champion) vs. Kaden Abbas, AGWSR, 24-11 (runner-up)

Zach Howes, Central Springs, 17-14 (runner-up) vs. No. 8 Tanner Arjes, North Butler-Clarksville, 29-1 (champion)

126 pounds

No. 2 Clayton McDonough, Central Springs, 48-0 (champion) vs. Kaden Wilken, Nashua-Plainfield, 21-13 (runner-up)

Ethan Maldonado, South Winneshiek, 34-8 (runner-up) vs. No. 9 Trey Lashbrook, AGWSR, 11-1 (champion)

138 pounds

Dalton Thorson, Lake Mills, 32-3 (champion) vs. Zach Johnson, AGWSR, 30-8 (runner-up)

No. 8 Bryce McDonough, Central Springs (runner-up) vs. Aiden Sullivan, Nashua-Plainfield, 18-18 (champion)

145 pounds

Alex Beaty, Lake Mills, 32-3 (champion) vs. Jayden Bowles, AGWSR, 21-14 (runner-up)

Preston Prazak, Central Springs, 38-11 (runner-up) vs. No. 10 McKade Munn, Nashua-Plainfield, 32-7 (champion)

160 pounds

No. 3 Casey Hanson, Lake Mills, 33-1 (champion) vs. Ben Puente, AGWSR, 17-15 (runner-up)

Drake Tiedemann, Northwood-Kensett, 38-7 (runner-up) vs. Giles Cowell, Tripoli, 22-15 (champion)


The Grundy Register

601 G. Avenue - P.O. Box 245
Grundy Center, IA 50638
Telephone: 1-319-824-6958
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit for more information.