Five BCLUW softball players on All-NICL West top team

Jake Ryder

The All-NICL West Softball Teams were released early last week as teams in the league prepared for the postseason.
BCLUW's Bailey Ashton, Cate Nason, Kiersten Kruse, Easton Swanson and Olivia Hughes were all named to the first team. AGWSR's Ali Gerbracht and Carrinton Hunt were also top-team picks and Grundy Center's Brooke Flater earned a first-team spot.
East Marshall senior Madison Farrington was named the NICL West's Outstanding Player, while BCLUW coach Megan Yantis earned Coach of the Year after the Comets went undefeated in the NICL West at 12-0.
All-NICL West second teamers included AGWSR's Taryan Barrick, MaKenna Kuper and Josie Winterberg; BCLUW's Kennedy Williams; G-R's Reagan Skovgard and Taylor Gienger; Grundy Center's Jenna Bonorden, Megan Beck, Maddie McMartin and Sydney Mathews.
Earning honorable mention were AGWSR's Rachel Sicard, BCLUW's Lili Wilson, Grundy Center's Emma Beck and Gladbrook-Reinbeck's Alyssa Morgan.
All-NICL West Softball Teams
Outstanding Player – Madison Farrington, sr., East Marshall.
Coach of the Year – Megan Yantis, BCLUW.
First team
Pitchers – Bailey Ashton, sr., BCLUW; Kodie Hoskey, jr., East Marshall.
Catcher – Madison Farrington, sr., East Marshall.
First base – Cate Nason, sr., BCLUW.
Second base – Maria Rasmusson, sr., East Marshall.
Shortstop – Easton Swanson, sr., BCLUW.
Third base – Kiersten Kruse, jr., BCLUW.
Outfielders – Melinda Puumala, sr., East Marshall; Carrinton Hunt, sr., AGWSR; Brooke Flater, sr., Grundy Center.
Utility – Ali Gerbracht, jr., AGWSR; Olivia Hughes, sr., BCLUW.
Second team
Pitchers – Taryan Barrick, sr., AGWSR; Megan Beck, jr., Grundy Center.
Catcher – Jenna Bonorden, jr., Grundy Center.
First base – Renae Schaper, jr., West Marshall.
Second base – MaKenna Kuper, so., AGWSR.
Shortstop – Maddie McMartin, sr., Grundy Center.
Third base – Hannah Birks, jr., East Marshall.
Outfielders – Sydney Mathews, sr., Grundy Center; Taylor Gienger, sr., G-R; Kennedy Williams, jr., BCLUW.
Utility – Reagan Skovgard, jr., G-R; Josie Winterberg, so., AGWSR.
Honorable mention
(Local teams only)
Rachel Sicard, jr., AGWSR; Lili Wilson, sr., BCLUW; Alyssa Morgan, so., G-R; Emma Beck, fr., Grundy Center.

The Grundy Register

601 G. Avenue - P.O. Box 245
Grundy Center, IA 50638
Telephone: 1-319-824-6958
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit for more information.