Five Cougars to 1A districts

AGWSR's Zach Johnson gets back points against Hudson's Jack Christianson in the 113-pound sectional semifinal at Clarksville. Johnson won by 17-6 major decision and effectively advanced to the district meet since there were only three wrestlers in his weight class. (Kristi Nixon/Mid-America Publishing)

CLARKSVILLE – The AGWSR wrestling team qualified five representatives to the next round of the wrestling postseason at a Class 1A sectional tournament Saturday.


AGWSR's Ali Gerbracht, Zach Johnson, Trey Lashbrook, Brody Roder and Dayton Haley all finished in the top two of their respective weight divisions to advance to this Saturday's 1A district tournament in Denver. Action begins at noon.


Lashbrook and Roder ended their day as sectional champions. Lashbrook, wrestling at 120 pounds, won by technical fall against North Tama's Emmanuel E in the semifinals and defeated Cade Hardy of North Butler-Clarksville with an 11-0 major decision in the championship match.


Roder won the 152-pound bracket with a first-period win by fall in the semifinals against Hudson's Noah Mills. Against Riceville's Chad Eastman in the championship match, Roder scored three takedowns in the final period of a victory by an 11-8 decision.


For the full story, see this week's Grundy Register. Subscribe by calling (319) 824-6958 or clicking here.